Ama Dablam South West Ridge

The Expedition Team

Team Membership

The team will have a minimum size of 3 members and 1 guide and a maximum size of 6 members and 2 guides.  Two or three climbing Sherpas will assist with the load carrying on the mountain.

Expedition Leader

The expedition leader is generally scheduled approximately six months out from the trip start. All of our trip leaders have extensive experience at high altitude and a proven record of safety, success and compatibility.

The number of guides is determined by the team size but the normal ratio of guides to members is 1:3. You will find our Guides companionable and strong expedition members with considerable power and willingness to see you achieve your goals.

 Rob Smith, Expedition Leader 2017
Rob started climbing in 1989, and has been guiding since 2000. He divides his time between guiding during the summer Antarctic seasons and the greater ranges of the Himalaya. Originally from Omagh, Northern Ireland Rob is now based in Fort William, Scotland. He has guided for Adventure Consultants for a number of years and his notable guided ascents include Everest, Vinson Massif, Cho Oyu, Carstensz and Elbrus amongst many others.

Read more

Head Office Support Team

Running successful journeys and expeditions is more about experience, knowledge and strategic management than any other factors. As an organisation, we place a substantial amount of time and resources into ensuring our trips are well planned and supported. You can be assured that the AC staff will provide you with friendly advice and knowledgeable support throughout the planning stages of your trip and we will be there to provide backup while the trip is running.

 Amelia Crofut-Brittingham, Client Liaison
Amelia has been with Adventure Consultants since October 2017 in the role of Client Liaison for European and Himalayan Operations. Having spent many years working in the ski industry, Amelia brings a wealth of experience to her role. Read more

 Left to right: Suze Kelly, Amy Hall, Anthea Fisher, Caroline Ogle, Aaron Whitehead, Guy Cotter, Jenny Grace, Steve Moffat, Emberly Wetherall and Tiffany Shervell. Absent are Kelly McLaren, David Ireland and Anita Winterburn.